Victor® Smart-Kill™ Wi-Fi Electronic Mouse Trap

Reviews for Victor® Smart-Kill™ Wi-Fi Electronic Mouse Trap

3.8 out of 5 stars
94 Reviews
5 stars 20 (54%)
4 stars 4 (11%)
3 stars 3 (8%)
2 stars 1 (3%)
1 star 9 (24%)
Sort by
I wanted a remote trap ...
May 3, 2023
I wanted a remote trap for my attic to control mice in a remote location. This gets 1 star for what victor does well, which is the trap 1/2 of the design. The electronic and wireless implementation is very poor. I am an electronics engineer. This is an wireless implementation of the ESP32 wireless chip used in many cheap products like thermostats. I have used these chips in some home products and they work fine, however Victor has managed to mess up the software. If the device disconnects from a dedicated 2.4G network, it will not reconnect automatically. Worst, it will be in high power transmit mode and kill the batteries, then you're done. Sometimes it will transmit and not return to sleep mode, again killing the batteries. I would strongly recommend waiting for a better implementation unless you buy "AA" batteries by the bucket.
Was this review helpful? 0
Response from Admin
May 5, 2023
We are sorry to hear about this experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback with us and will be sure to pass along these comments to the Product Manager for further review. We are only ever looking to improve upon our products, which is why your feedback is so critical. It is good to know that this product is backed by a 1 year replacement policy. Please feel free to contact us directly for further assistance.
The device failed in its main feature
Apr 20, 2023
I bought this product in Canada, where the price is roughly $80, double the $40 non connected trap. It failed in its main function, which was notification of function. After some difficulty, I set up a seperate 2.4 GHz network, connected the device to it and checked the status. The page showed connected and 98% battery. The next day the device notified me that it had been offline for 24 hours. I opened it to find a mouse, dead. The device failed in its main differentiating point, which is notification. Buy the cheaper trap without notifications.
Was this review helpful? 0
Response from Admin
Apr 21, 2023
We're sorry to hear your trap lost its connection! We recommend placing traps in locations with good signal strength to prevent this from occurring. Please contact us at 855-584-2867 with any questions, we're happy to help.
I have had two of ...
Mar 24, 2023
I have had two of these for nearly three years now One of them under my kitchen sink area with difficult access has caught 5 mice over past three years Love the WiFi notification!! as the traps are in difficult access areas making checking much easier
Was this review helpful? 0
I really like these and ...but they short themselves out and become bricks
Jan 12, 2023
I really like these and I've caught 50+ mice over the last couple years (I live in the woods near a farm). The problem is that I've bought 8 of them and the electronics keep shorting out and the trap becomes a $50 brick. Only 2 of the 8 are still working. Yes, I've tried new batteries, cleaning the trap surfaces etc -- they are dead as the mice they once caught.
Was this review helpful? 0
Response from Admin
Jan 12, 2023
Thank you for sharing this feedback. We're sorry to hear that the traps have stopped working. We recommend cleaning them using the following steps: Turn the trap off and remove the batteries. Use a hydrogen peroxide topical solution (available at most drug stores) and an old toothbrush to clean the inside of the chamber. If needed, use a wire brush to remove any corrosion, being careful not to be too vigorous. This could accidentally remove all of the protective zinc plating. Allow the interior and exterior of the kill chamber to air dry completely before reassembling. Bait the trap. Re-insert the batteries and turn the trap on. If the trap is still not working, it may need to be replaced. They are covered under a one year replacement policy. Reach out to us directly for assistance.
Easy to use, Wifi Notifications, Effective
Dec 12, 2022
Previously was using glue traps, which become annoying having to check them every day, then I bought these Wi-Fi electronic traps and they are extremely easy to use and receive notifications on your cell phone immediately regardless of where you’re at. The ability to name each trap by location is amazing, by taking all the guess work out of it you will know exactly which trap to empty. If using an iPhone, be sure to set your notification settings to turn on “persistent banner” that way the “Kill” notification message will remain on your home screen until you acknowledge it, otherwise you may miss the brief message., also turn on sounds and badge. Should you happen to catch something you immediately get a notification on your phone and you simply know to empty it out and life is good.
Was this review helpful? 0
So nice to be notified ...
Dec 9, 2022
So nice to be notified without having to check the trap daily. The dead mouse is not open to view or to discovery by grandchildren or others as with snap traps
Was this review helpful? 0
Started out 4 stars but ...
Dec 2, 2022
Started out 4 stars but upped to 5 after good customer service. Bought 2 traps and one didn’t seem to be working. Contacted customer service and after a couple troubleshooting emails, they just sent a new one. These traps are so great! Only one missed mouse out of 10. I just saw a liquid trail like he drug himself back out after getting shocked. We have very stubborn mice that I can hear chewing at night, but can’t tell if they are chewing outside trying to get in or are inside the house. I have no attic or access. Vaulted ceiling and scissor trusses. I had to drill a 4” hole in the ceiling above a closet to set a trap on top of the insulation then plug the hole. With these electronic traps they can set for weeks without checking in remote locations then notify me when a mouse is caught. I have caught most and now in maintenance mode. Hoping I have all the current entry points plugged, but they never give up trying to chew their way in. I am putting out poison to create a perimeter around the house
Was this review helpful? 0
I bought two mouse traps ...
Nov 23, 2022
I bought two mouse traps and one rat trap to deal with the constant mice and packrat issues we have here on the edge of the desert. In two years of constant use, these have trapped an average of 2 critters per week in various areas in and around the property. They go through a set of batteries about once every 5 weeks at that rate (as long as they get a Wifi signal...if they don't, its about 5 days). I have been there to empty a triggered trap in mere moments after triggering and haven't ever found a live or semi-live critter, so I say this is a humane as I could ask for. The old wind-up box-style traps of my youth were nightmares of multi-mouse cannibal houses that I hated to empty. These are quick and clean. For what it is worth, I have tried all kinds of bait and have settled on peanut butter as the best - it has good "smell range" to attract the critters and they have to crawl in good and snug to try to eat it, resulting in a clean kill and much less bait-stealing. Initial setup can be a pain in the butt, but it can be made easier by turning off the 5gHz band of your router for a few minutes while setting these up. Better firmware would be appreciated to get around that issue and make setup easier.
Was this review helpful? 0
Eats new alkaline batteries
Nov 18, 2022
Purchased six of the mouse units in May, 2021. Had no problems with battery depletion of WiFi connectivity. Prepped all the units (cleaned, fresh bait, brand new Duracell alkaline batteries) for the upcoming winter season. Within two days, three of the units have lost connectivity, despite all having a STRONG WiFi signal. In troubleshooting the units, all had battery voltages of 1.2 volts or less. If this is the case, the cost of batteries will be excessive. Great traps when they work, but given their initial cost and battery consumption, I can purchase dozens of large glue traps to do the same job.
Was this review helpful? 0
Response from Admin
Nov 22, 2022
Thank you for sharing this feedback. The normal operation of the traps should not deplete the batteries this quickly. Keep in mind that cold temperatures can have a negative effect on battery life. Our traps have a one year replacement policy. Reach out to us directly with any questions.
Verified Buyer
Buy it. Good app, easy to use and quick death for the offending critter.
Nov 1, 2022
We purchased several of the Wi-Fi enabled mouse traps. Not only is the Call of Duty style "kill count" that pops up on your phone informative but also tells you when to go and dispose of the mouse.
Was this review helpful? 0

Items 1 to 10 of 94 total

Apply per page

Visit Our
Canadian Store